The City of Perth local government area is comprised of all or part of several suburbs, all within close proximity to the central city area. Each suburb has a distinctive character with most being a mix of commercial and residential areas.

Central Business District

Perth is the capital city and the largest city of Western Australia. The central business district is predominantly commercial in land use and home to the head offices of some of the state's major companies. A number of inner city residential options also exist throughout the central city area.

Perth city is serviced by three freeways, including: Mitchell Freeway, Kwinana Freeway and Graham Farmer Freeway.

Public transport includes taxis, a number of train lines, Transperth buses with two main bus stations located on Wellington Street and Esplanade, and a Transperth ferry service that operates from Barrack Street Jetty.

The main streets in the CBD of Perth include: St. Georges Terrace, Hay Street, Murray Street, Barrack Street and William Street.

West Perth

West Perth is one of the inner suburbs of Perth. This suburb has a mix of residential and commercial buildings, but the office buildings seem to be displacing the residential ones.

Some of the notable buildings in the West Perth precinct are the Harbourtown factory outlet and the Perth Arena, both located on the eastern edge of the suburb.


Northbridge is another inner suburb of Perth. This suburb has been effectively separated from the city by the Perth to Joondalup and Perth to Fremantle railway lines. A major redevelopment program is currently in place to sink these rail lines and create a stronger link between the two areas.

The Northbridge suburb is a mix of commercial, residential and public properties. Northbridge is an ethnic precinct that offers a wide range of cuisine, and is also Perth’s main nightlife.

East Perth

Located next to Perth CBD, East Perth is another inner suburb of Perth. Bordered by the Swan River, this suburb is dominated by both residential and commercial buildings.

Interstate and intrastate train services operate from the East Perth railway station.

A sense of the early colonial era can be found in parts of East Perth. This suburb is also home to two major sporting grounds: the Western Australia Cricket Association (WACA) and Gloucester park Trotting Ground.


Crawley is residential suburb, located within close proximity to Kings Park, and Perth’s oldest university, the University of Western Australia. This suburb is also located within the City of Perth, as well as the City of Subiaco.

During World War II, this area was the starting point for the Double Sunrise Squadron, an air force team formed to keep the air route between Australia and the United Kingdom open.

Tourists visit Crawley frequently to visit the Crawley Edge Boatshed and The Royal Perth Yacht Club.

New City of Perth Areas - parts of Subiaco and Nedlands

The boundaries of the City of Perth have been revised in accordance with the City of Perth Act which came into effect on 1 July 2016. Limited areas of land from the City of Subiaco and the City of Nedlands have been transferred to the City of Perth as indicted on the map provided in the attached link: